Boston University Officially Joins the Patriot League

GO TERRIERS 20 of BU's 25 athletic programs will now compete under the Patriot League banner.
20 of BU's 25 athletic programs will now compete under the Patriot League banner.

July 1, 2013

Patriot League welcome video

Patriot League: Who We Are | Mission and Vision | History

Get to know the schools of the Patriot League

BOSTON - A year after announcing the move, Boston University has officially joined the Patriot League and helped bring the conference's full membership to 10 schools.

When the clock struck midnight on Monday, July 1, the Terriers and Loyola University Maryland became partners with American University, Bucknell University, Colgate University, The College of Holy Cross, Lafayette College, Lehigh University, United States Military Academy and United States Naval Academy.

To commemorate the Terriers' official entrance into the conference, the Mayor of the City of Boston Thomas Menino declared July 1 "Boston University and Patriot League Day".

With the announcement, 20 of Boston University's 25 athletic programs will now compete under the Patriot League banner. While men's lacrosse prepares for its inaugural season, the teams making the change in conference affiliation are men and women's basketball, men and women's cross country and track and field, field hockey, women's golf, women's lacrosse, women's rowing, men and women's soccer, softball, men and women's swimming and diving and men and women's tennis.

The Terriers are immediately eligible for Patriot League titles and NCAA tournament berths. Women's rowing will see a familiar face from the Charles River at its respective conference championship, as the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) is an associate member of the Patriot League for the sport.

Women's soccer will have the distinction of competing in the first-ever conference regular season game for BU Athletics at Navy on Sept. 20, and field hockey will face American in the first home Patriot League contest on Sept. 28.

The Patriot League was formed as an all-sport conference in 1990-91 after beginning as a football only conference (Colonial League) in 1986. Army, Bucknell, Colgate, Holy Cross, Lafayette and Lehigh are each founding members of the League. Navy joined the Patriot League for the 1991-92 academic year. Prior to the addition of BU and Loyola, American was the last full member to join the Patriot League (2001-02).

About the Patriot League
The Patriot League continually demonstrates that student-athletes can excel at both academics and athletics without sacrificing its high standards. The Patriot League's athletic success is achieved while its member institutions remain committed to its founding principle of admitting and graduating student-athletes that are academically representative of their class. Participation in athletics at Patriot League institutions is viewed as an important component of a well-rounded education.

About Boston University
Founded in 1839, Boston University is an internationally recognized private research university with more than 33,000 students participating in undergraduate, graduate, and professional programs. BU consists of 16 colleges and schools along with a number of multi-disciplinary centers and institutes which are central to the school's research and teaching mission. Boston University is nationally ranked among the nation's premier academic institutions both within the undergraduate and graduate community. In addition, BU is also listed among the top global universities according to a variety of reports.

Nickerson Turns 100

Braves/Nickerson Field celebrates its 100th anniversary.


Patriot League Network

Find out how to watch your Terriers compete at home and on the road in the Patriot League!


Student-Athlete of the Week

Connolly batted .500 to help lead softball to PL title.